“The Handmaid’s Tale”-Margaret Atwood

Have you ever read The Handmaid’s Tale? You absolutely should. In the two days I’ve almost finished it; this book is absolutely mesmerizing and impossible to put down. The story is about Offred, who is a handmaid, or a girl given to a family to give them children. Through Offred we not only learn about her life as a handmaid, but also about how Western society (the story seems to take place somewhere in New England-Boston is mentioned as not being too far away, and they are less than a day’s drive to Canada) came to become the ultra-conservative society it is in the book, and Offred’s life beforehand.

Women in this society are completely controlled. They have no power, cannot work, own property or have money; they are not even allowed to read or write. Women are either daughters, wives, handmaids or “Marthas” (servants), and their roles are completely within the house. Eyes watch their every move, and disobedience is threatened with becoming an “Unwoman.” Suicide is so rampant that anything that could creatively be used to kill yourself is kept away from women, especially handmaids.

Right now I’m at the part where she meets up with Moira, her long lost best friend. I like Moira; from what we’ve learned about her so far she seems pretty awesome. I’m curious to see how this meeting goes.

Have you ever  read The Handmaid’s Tale? What did you think of it? Any other good books to suggest? Let me know in the comments below!

6 thoughts on ““The Handmaid’s Tale”-Margaret Atwood

    • I thought that was insane! that character was so completely broken, at one point she just sits at the edge of her bed and thinks she’s still a waitress-she even apologizes when she was hit

  1. Absolutely loved that book, says so much more beyond the words, one of the ones that haunts you for years! Really good read, hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    • “Haunts” is the perfect word to describe it! I can’t put it down, but when I do, I can’t stop thinking about it. I’m glad other people love the book as much as I do

      • It does rank as one of my all time best reads. If you like the hand maids tale, you may also like The Book Thief if you have not already come across it, another of those haunting reads, written from an unusual perspective again that’s one that sticks with me.

Leave a Reply

