Que Sera Sera

My grandmother loves music. She often knows the hit songs better than anyone else, has the discography of every musical memorized, and on command can sing almost any current or former pop hit. Many of my best memories of her revolve around songs and singing. When I was little, I would dress up in costumes and the two of us would sing show tunes with the enthusiasm only a three year old can muster. Even now, when I visit her house the radio is always on, and the image of her doing the crossword puzzle in the Sunday paper while singing to the radio is seared into my brain.

I remember a car-ride with her when I older. As we pulled out of her driveway an old pop song, one of her favorites as a child, came on the radio and she still knew every word. We listened to it once threw and then she turned off the radio and taught my siblings and I the entire song. For the entire ride home, about thirty minutes max, we sang this song until we had it memorized, and then we sang it some more.

At the time I was in middle school at the time  and just thought it was a pretty song. I soon forgot that ride; it blended in with so many other memories of my grandmother, until my senior year of high school. Worried about college acceptance, graduating and everything else the future entailed, that song contained a message I needed to hear.

 

Que Sera Sera

Whatever will be will be

The Future’s Not Ours to See

Que Sera Sera

Singing that song loudly with my grandmother, and then softly to myself years later, taught me to take life in stride, one step at a time. It is okay, preferrable even, not to have your entire life planed out to the tee. As I go through the twists and turns of life, this song has become my motto, helping me keep calm in times of uncertainty.

Thank you Gramma.

3 thoughts on “Que Sera Sera

  1. None of us are born with a map and compass to navigate the roads of life, but I guess that’s part of the fun of living, when one steps aside the irrational fear of the unknown and begins to appreciate the beauty of life.

    Strange thing about songs and well written literature they often contain messages that find us again in time, there meanings change evolve with us and tell us something, echoes from the past pulsing into tomorrow.

  2. I agree, once I stopped trying to plan everything in my life, I started to notice how truly wonderful it is. And yes, well written words never leave us, they change, even if only slightly, our point of view and become a part of who we are.

  3. Pingback: Making the Rounds | Urban Words

Leave a Reply

